08
Feb
10

childish gambino is the shit.

Those of you who watch ‘Community’ on NBC are already familiar with Donald Glover (although he also has a movie called Mystery Team and has written for SNL and done the same and appeared on 30 Rock). His short scenes with Abed over the credits are often my favorite part of a given episode of community.

As it would turn out, he is also a hilariously fantastic emcee. He turns funny phrases filled with irony and pop culture references just like the fun side of Hip Hop should be. I love him.

We already knew he had some chops because of one of the aforementioned credit sequences at the end of a ‘Community’ episode:

Yet, even that wonderfully nonsensical spanish rap didn’t prepare me for how awesome his DIY rapping over indie rock was going to be. Amazing. I found his stuff on You Ain’t No Picasso, and boy am I glad I did.

/i make your iPod hotter than a lighter would/

This is my favorite song so far, it’s called ‘Bitch, look at me now,’ and it’s a cathartic stab at those who made fun of him in school, rapped over ‘Two Weeks’ by Grizzly Bear. It flips back and forth between bravado and  irony. You should listen to it, and fall in love as I did.

Also, for good measure, another credit sequence to appreciate.

0 Responses to “childish gambino is the shit.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My latest Tweet

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Pages


