22
Jan
09

trailer park thursday. 1.22.09

It’s been a pretty slow week as far as good movie trailers go. Thus, only two trailers, and one isn’t even included because I want to see it. Sad, but true.

500 Days of Summer

Who’s Involved?:

Director: Marc Webb

Writer: Scott Neustadter, Michael H. Weber

Cast: Zooey Deschanel, Joseph Gordon-Levitt

What is it?: “This isn’t a love story, it’s a story about love.”

Why I’m Interested: I actually saw this trailer last week immediately after posting ‘trailer park thursday.’ First off, to its credit, it features the lovely co-winner of Paste Magazine’s Album of the Year, Zooey Deschanel.

As far as the rest of the film goes, I’m not sure what it may be, is it a musical? There was definitely some dancing in there, was that a dream sequence of some sort? I don’t know what it is, but I like it.

Horsemen

Who’s Involved?:

Director: Jonas Akerlund

Writer: David Callaham

Cast: Dennis Quaid, Ziyi Zhang, Clifton Collins Jr.

What is it?: If the trailer is to be believed, I think a few studio execs were sitting around when one said, “Hey, Seven was a successful movie right? What if we just borrowed most of that and pretended it was something new by focusing on Revelation instead. Let’s see if we can get the ball rolling on that.”

Why I’m Interested: The reason I’m interested in this trailer isn’t actually because of a desire to see the movie, but instead because I am continually amazed by how consistently studios try to recycle the past in order to avoid risk.

3 Responses to “trailer park thursday. 1.22.09”


  1. 1 Kj
    January 22, 2009 at 11:58 am

    500 Days of Summer looks really good, but the voiceover narration on the trailer is bad enough to convince me that the movie might be awful. Would have been better with silence.

  2. 2 Jesse
    January 24, 2009 at 11:02 am

    I’ll see just about anything featuring Zooey Deschanel (unless it’s directed by the fallen angel M. Night Shyamalan), but I’m wary of trailers that don’t allow us to hear any of the dialogue from the film. Especially with love stories, which are inherently script-driven.

    Oh wait, I forgot, this is a story ABOUT love. So maybe that’ll be different.


Leave a Reply

My latest Tweet

Pages


