16
Jan
09

trailer park thursday (on a friday). 1.16.09

Based on a really crazy Tuesday schedule this term which keeps me busy from 9 in the morning until 9 at night, Trailer Park Tuesday will become Trailer Park Thursday. Sorry that this week’s is a day late.

Medicine for Melancholy

“This is a one night stand.”

“It’s only been one night, can’t do nothing about that.”

Who’s Involved?:

Director: Barry Jenkins

Writer: Barry Jenkins

Cast: Wyatt Cenac, Tracy Heggins

What is it?: A couple spend the day together after a one night stand they can barely remember.   

Why I’m Interested: Loneliness, connection, race, humanity. It would be easier to come up with reasons I’m not interested than reasons why I am. I’ll just let you see for yourself.

—–

Last House On The Left

“I wanna hear you beg for your life.”

Who’s Involved?:

Director: Dennis Iliadis

Writer: Adam Alleca & Carl Ellsworth

Cast: Tony Goldwyn, Monica Potter, Riki Lindhome, Sara Paxton, Garret Dillahunt

What is it?: Remake of a film from 1972, what starts off as the formulaic “good guys give bad guys a place to stay at their own peril” becomes something very different.   

Why I’m Interested: I’ve never been a fan of the horror genre, but I do usually enjoy when filmmakers turn genres and conventions on their heads. Thus, since it appears this film takes the lame and predictable genre that has been done a thousand times before, and turns the table, it is enough to peak my interest, at least from a storytelling standpoint. Yet, I still do have trouble figuring out what the draw is of watching people suffer as enjoyment. One of the primary questions I have is, do they live happily ever after in the end, ignoring the inevitable cost of violence? I suppose it could be the most blatantly unadulterated and unapologetic serving of the myth of redemptive violence in some time.

—–

Bronson

“I did come into this world as Michael Peterson, but I’ll go out with my fighting name, Bronson.”

Who’s Involved?:

Director: Nicolas Winding Refn

Writer: Brock Norman Brock

Cast: Tom Hardy, Matt King, Kelly Adams, Edward Bennett-Coles

What is it?: The story of British circus strong man, bare knuckle boxer, and career criminal Charles Bronson.   

Why I’m Interested: It looks dark and disturbing, but I suppose a movie about the man referred to as the most dangerous inmate in Britian would have to be. Even in the trailer, the performance of Tom Hardy looks electric.

3 Responses to “trailer park thursday (on a friday). 1.16.09”


  1. 1 towardeverywind
    January 19, 2009 at 7:09 am

    is that sally from “flight of the conchords” in the “last house on the left” trailer???

  2. 2 towardeverywind
    January 19, 2009 at 7:13 am

    nope.

  3. March 22, 2009 at 11:28 am

    Where did this guy, Tom Hardy, come from? i love it when actors find their break out roles like he did with Bronson


Leave a Reply

My latest Tweet

  • How is it that autocorrect correctly guessed a string of mistyped letters was 'pistachio,' but couldn't guess what I meant by 'alrewdy?' 3 hours ago

Pages


