04
Nov
08

trailer park tuesday. 11.04.08

Only two trailers this week. I promise a few extras next week to make up for it.

Slumdog Millionaire:

“What can a slumdog possibly know?”

Who’s Involved?:

Director: Danny Boyle

Writer: Simon Beaufoy

Cast: Dev Patel, Madhur Mittal, Freida Pinto, Anil Kapoor, Irrfan Khan

What is it?: Director Danny Boyle brings us a story revolving around a young man from the slums of India who wins India’s Who Wants To Be A Millionaire?.  

Why I’m Interested: I love Danny Boyle, so I have been interested all along, but the trailer looking great just adds fuel to the fire.

The added bit of intrigue in this one comes from the MPAA’s decision to give the film an R rating. All accounts are that this is another tiresome example of how useless the MPAA is, in that Slumdog Millionaire gets an R rating for a few isolated scenes of fairly mild violence, withing a film that has a tone of tension… or at least the tone was one thing the MPAA cited as a reason for the R. Yet, The Dark Knight can be inescapably dark, and still get a PG13 nod, in spite of the inclusion of someone being slammed eye first into the point of a pencil and the startling appearance of a corpse tied by a noose slamming against a skyscraper window. There is also the fact that television can get away with a pretty high amount of violence in their TV14 rating, and kids can watch that pretty easily.

Anyway, I’m over 17, so I’ll be able to go see Slumdog without a problem.

A Christmas Tale:

“I got held up for six years.”

Who’s Involved?:

Director/Writer: Arnaud Desplechin

Cast: Catherine Deneuve, Mathieu Amalric, Jean-Paul Roussillon, Anne Consigny, Hippolyte Girardot

What is it?: From what I’ve seen, it’s a story of family, life, estrangement, and community, and just how painful and redemptive relationship can be.    

Why I’m Interested: In addition to the fact that Mathieu Amalric continues to climb higher into the realm of my favorite actors, the trailer intrigues me in and of itself. I love when a filmmaker can tell a story that engages the necessity of embracing both the beauty and the pain of family, and relationship, and life together, but in a way that acknowledges how messy and complicated life really is. This film seems to have the potential to do just that.

1 Response to “trailer park tuesday. 11.04.08”


  1. 1 Emily
    November 4, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    I’m looking forward to these two, I got chills watching the Slumdog Millionaire trailer, it seems as though it has great use of music! and I’m really interested to see A Christmas Tale, is Henri the brother the main character from the Diving Bell and the butterfly? Good choices, I look forward to seeing them with you!


Leave a Reply

My latest Tweet

Pages


