31
Oct
08

five things. 10.31.08

1. The Visitor –

“I sound a lot better when he’s playing with me.”

The Visitor is a lovely film. It does a great job, among other things, holding on to both tragedy and hope, which is beautiful because in life, one is never absent of the other. The film had the unforced subtlety and nuance of life, and before I knew it I fell in love with the characters and found myself wanting the story to continue on after it ended (much like writer/director Thomas McCarthy’s other film The Station Agent, which has received the official Scott Small seal of approval in the past).

I came away from the film with the reminder that, at the risk of sounding cheesy, we are the music in each others lives. While allowing others into our lives may open us up to the pain of loss and heartache, we aren’t really living if our days aren’t filled with the rhythm of community and family.

So, as is obvious from it being included in this week’s five things, I highly recommend checking out The Visitor if you haven’t already.

2. Entertaining, Informative, and Important: This article over at The Urban Frontiersman is both timely and important. Sure, most people use those words to refer to the election these days, but you won’t be voting if you are either A. Zombie Food, or B. under arrest for shooting a child. Being informed is the best way to deal with the COUP.

3. Pushing Daisies – It seems like Halloween is as good a day as any to talk about my favorite show, Pushing Daisies. It has everything I might look for in a show. It’s hugely imaginative and fantastic, it’s got wonderful, clever, fast paced dialogue, it never takes it self too seriously, it’s beautiful on a purely asthetic level, and there’s even singing.

For those who haven’t seen the show, it’s about a pie maker named Ned, who has the power to bring dead things back to life with a touch. However, there are two important parts to his power, one, is that if he touches the dead, now alive, thing again it goes back to being dead, this time forever. And two, if he doesn’t make the dead, now alive, thing dead again in one minute, something else has to die in its place. That’s the basic gist, but there is much more than that which I will allow those of you who watch it for yourself to discover on your own.

The show is on Wednesdays at 8:00 Eastern, and everyone should check it out. If the show doesn’t make you A. happy, and B. want to eat pie, then you can hold me personally responsible.

4. Christmas Break – It’s the end of October, which means I’m just that much closer to Christmas break. There are so many reasons to look forward to the upcoming holiday for me.

For one, I get to fly east to see family. Two, I get to see four of my favorite people on the planet, the Kazee family. Three, I finally get a break from school, something I haven’t gotten in a long time thanks to Hebrew going all summer long, and FF&J taking place during reading week.

I think I’ll put up the Christmas tree when I get home today, just to celebrate how great it will be when mid-December finally gets here!

5. Offseason Baseball – When it comes to people who enjoy baseball, there are two types: the baseball fan, and the baseball nerd.

For baseball fans, there is probably a sadness as the season ends, meaning they have to wait for next year to enjoy more game action.

For the baseball nerd, there is a giddy excitement as the season ends because baseball nerds enjoy the offseason just as much as, and at times maybe even a little more than, the regular season.

In case you couldn’t tell, I fall into the second category. The idea of this offseason’s free agent signings, and trades, and winter meetings, and preparation for next season makes it that much easier to enjoy my favorite sport all year long. Where will Sabathia land? Will Peavy get traded? Who will sign Teixeira? Will anyone meet Manny’s absurd demands?

Mmmmm, the nerdy goodness is like cold Coke on a hot summer day.

0 Responses to “five things. 10.31.08”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My latest Tweet

  • Being behind the stick at a crowded bar when “I Wanna Dance with Somebody” plays is one of my favorite parts of being a bartender. 1 week ago

Pages


