29
Oct
08

crappy reality tv killed the video star. [clip of the week. 10.29.08]

You know what I miss? When Mtv and VH1 actually showed music videos. Sure, it might be unreasonable for me to expect channels called Music Television and Video Hits 1 to play music videos, but I expect it nonetheless. Instead, these channels now show copious amounts of absolutely dreadful reality television. In the case of VH1, even stopping on one of their shows for more than 3.67 seconds makes me sad that I was born a human being instead of a monkey, or perhaps even a flying squirrel.

I have a suspicion that if we ever experience the zombie apocalypse Waldo talks so much about, reality television might have something to do with it. Perhaps, if we wait too long to stand up against reality television, especially the Mtv/VH1 variety, the dead will rise up in our place, all the while feeding on the brains we’ve obviously stopped using. It actually makes the zombies seem pretty reasonable, I mean, if we aren’t going to use it we might as well let a zombie get some lunch rather than letting a perfectly good brain go to waste.

But, like I was saying, I miss when I could make Mtv a part of my regular channel surfing rotation in the hopes that every once in a while I might come across a video that stands out from the trash that most music videos were. Remember those videos that were clever, or entertaining, or somehow made a great song even better? Well, I’m bringing them back, baby!

I’ve decided that for the foreseeable future, clip of the week will return for the sole purpose of sharing my favorite music videos with all of you out there in internet land. In light of this, use the comments to share with me what some of your favorite music videos are, perhaps I’ll include them in a future post. My selfish hope is also that in your suggestions I might just find a treasure I’ve yet been unexposed to.

This week, I’m starting with The Next Movement, by The Roots. The reason this video goes first is that it was when I relented to my hankering to watch this wonderful little video that I remembered how great some music videos actually are. If you haven’t seen it before, you should really take the four minutes to watch. If you can make it through the whole video and not be overwhelmed with affection for ?uestlove then there might be something wrong with your heart, and zombies may very well make it an afterbrain snack in the near future. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Sadly, embedding isn’t working for the video, so you have to go here.

2 Responses to “crappy reality tv killed the video star. [clip of the week. 10.29.08]”


  1. 1 David Blair
    October 30, 2008 at 5:25 am

    One of the most impressive videos I’ve seen recently is Mute Math, Typical: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zNlZ4QFt7FU

  2. 2 W
    October 30, 2008 at 10:42 am

    For some reason I’ve always been drawn to the Verve’s ‘Bittersweet Symphony’:


Leave a Reply

Pages


